skip navigation

Ken Davies Memorial Award

About Ken Davies

A native of Kendal, Ontario, Ken was born on September 8, 1971.  His outstanding athletic abilities allowed him to excel in many sports.  He was the MVP with the Darlington soccer team, MVP with the senior high school basketball team, MVP with the senior high school volleyball team, and Athlete of the Year at Clarke High School in Newcastle.  He was chosen to the Ontario Provincial Team for the Canada Games in Saskatoon in 1989 which, as he put it, “was the dream of a lifetime”.

Ken’s goals were “to become a national team player and a physical education teacher”, and to that end he worked very hard at both academics and volleyball.  According to his Provincial Team coach, “he was a quietly intense and dedicated worker.  He was one of the most unselfish and coachable players I have ever worked with.” Ken was a quiet individual with a rich inner life.  He liked “to playgolf, soccer and read”, however, according to his own words, “it was competition” that was the driving force that led him to engage in highly elite and competitive programs.

Of course, Ken’s idea of playing sports was “to play 100% all the time”.  While returning from a tournament in the fall of 1989, Ken’s life was tragically taken from him by a drunk driver.  His example and memory will always be with us.

Note:  All quotes in bold are taken from Ken’s Provincial Team Athlete Profile form written by him in June 1989.


The Ken Davies Memorial Award is presented annually to a male Age Division athlete who demonstrates the qualities of determination, leadership, athletic ability and sportsmanship as exemplified by Ken Davies himself.  We ask all coaches to forward a letter of nomination for an athlete who they feel is most deserving.

All player nominations must be received by March 28, 2021 in order to be included in the final award listing. To submit your nomination, fill out the nomination form below.

QUESTIONS: Contact Carrie Campbell, Manager of Indoor Programs at


Past Recipients

Year Athlete
2020 Max Gratton
2019 Erik Siksna
2018 Justin Lui
2017 Alex St-Denis
2016 Jordan Figuera
2015 Sebastian Lethbridge
2014 Andrew Richards
2013 Brandon Koppers
2012 Bruno Lortie
2011 Tyler Scheerhoorn
2010 Garrett May
2009 Jeremie Lortie
2008 Erik Mattson/Alex Oneid
2007 Josh Lichty
2006 Sander Ratsep
2005 Josh Nederveen/Devin Atkinson
2004 Devon Miller/Stuart Hamilton
2003 Paul Hrkal
2002 Nick Beaver
2001 Mark Sidler/Tim Wiley
2000 David Killam
1999 Brian Fuchs
1998 Chris Piggot
1997 Pat Thomas
1996 Dennis Cerpvac
1995 Rob Janson/Neil Mason
1994 Daryl Reid
1993 Daryl Reid/Craig Done
1992 Paul Duerden
1991 Dustin Reid/Josh Prowse
1990 Andreas Schirm