skip navigation

Evelyn Holick Award

About Evelyn Holick

Throughout her years on the volleyball scene, Evelyn Holick accomplished many firsts in her life. She was the first female "National" level official in Ontario and the Head Coach for Ontario's first Women's Provincial Team in the inaugural Canada Games in Quebec City, where the team won gold. She coached the Women’s team at York University in 1974-75 and continued coaching with the OVA, leading the Women’s Provincial Team in the 1971 Canada Games in Saskatoon.  

Prior to her successful coaching career, Evelyn was an avid volleyball player. Evelyn played for the Team Ontario All-Stars in the International Volleyball Tour of Canada held at Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto in October 1965.   She captained the Toronto Blues teams and won numerous National Championship medals throughout the 1960s and early 1970s. 

A true leader, in 1967 Evelyn found time to be on the organizing committee for Canadian National Volleyball Championships and PanAm Trials in Toronto. Evelyn was a player-coach for the A.A.E Club from 1967-73, and her team won the silver at the Canadian Volleyball National Championships 1970 in Winnipeg.  Evelyn also coached with the Scarborough Volleyball Club program.

Her accomplishments and commitment to volleyball established Evelyn as the first role model for female players, coaches and officials in the Province of Ontario. 


The Evelyn Holick Award is presented annually at the Ontario Championships. It is awarded to a female Youth Division athlete in recognition of outstanding commitment, dedication to the sport of volleyball, leadership, sportsmanship and athletic ability. All coaches are invited to forward a letter of nomination for an athlete who they feel is most deserving.

All player nominations must be received by March 28, 2021 in order to be included in the final award listing. To submit your nomination, fill out the nomination form below.

QUESTIONS: Contact Carrie Campbell, Manager of Indoor Programs at


Past Recipients

Year Athlete
2020 Katerina Georgiadis
2019 Haley Armstrong
2018 Lauren Wong
2017 Maddie Lethbridge
2016 Emie Gaboury
2015 Michelle Chelladurai
2014 Lauren Sanderson
2013 Shainah Joseph
2012 Brett Hagarty
2011 Michaela Reesor
2010 Ali Goc
2009 Lauren Carter
2008 Meagan Nederveen
2007 Amanda Cowdrey/Shannon Anderson
2006 Amber Campbell/Annabelle Pellerin
2005 Tess Edwards
2004 Sarah Pavan
2003 Kim Todd
2002 Danielle Walker
2001 Laura Horner
2000 Stacey Gordon
1999 Stacey Gordon
1998 Sherene Lemonias
1997 Allison Peckham
1996 Kera Carter
1995 Marnie Simpson
1994 Barb Ifejika