skip navigation

Maxime Gratton Earns the Prestigious Ken Davies Memorial Award for 2020

By Ontario Volleyball, 04/22/20, 10:30AM EDT


The Ontario Volleyball Association is pleased to announce Maxime Gratton as the winner of the Association's most significant award for a youth male volleyball player in Ontario; the Ken Davies Memorial award. This award is presented annually to a nominated male athlete from the 18 and under division who encompasses the characteristics of the award’s namesake, including determination, leadership, sportsmanship and fair play, on-court talent and accomplishments, as well as their injection of spirit and compassion within the community away from the court. This award recognizes the complete player and person.

Gratton, 18, possesses not only an incredible level of volleyball talent and physical capabilities with a 41 inch vertical touch, but sports a humble and driven personality allowing him to accomplish much in his young life. A member of the Ottawa Mavericks Mustangs, Team Ontario Elite and Team Canada’s Youth National Team, the left side hitter, and 85% student, recently committed with the McMaster Marauders for the 2020-21 season in the USports league.

Away from the court, Maxime has demonstrated a willingness to give back to his community while fueling his personal love for the game.

''Maxime is a young man full of energy, who has a sense of humour, continually demonstrates exemplary manners, a contagious politeness, and an impressive fighting spirit,” said his high school coach, Jean-Pierre Saab. “He also takes the time to transmit his passion for volleyball to the youngest. For two years, he coached the 7th and 8th grade teams at Garneau and acted as a mentor to the junior team. He has always been generous with his time given to younger players. Whatever their level, he would spend considerable time helping them with their techniques because he knew that would make them better. He was the prime catalyst behind Garneau's accession through school volleyball in recent years. I believe he has left a legacy that will last for many years to come.''

Outside of volleyball, Maxime dedicates his time to learning about, teaching and managing Type 1 Diabetes, an ailment he personally manages on a daily basis. Maxime and his family are involved in raising money to support associations such as the Canadian Diabetes Association and Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. The family has raised more than $2,000 to help find a cure.

Nominated by his head coach Francois St. Denis, the accolades are not in short supply.

“Even though he has excellent physical abilities, it is his attitude that makes him stand out as an athlete and volleyball player,” said St. Denis. “His desire to learn and improve and his passion for volleyball transpires in every aspect of the game and every time he steps on the court, whether it is for a practice, training or a competition. This is not something that he learned. This is who he is.”

Traditionally the Ken Davies Memorial award would be formally presented during the Ontario Championship but due to COVID-19, the award will be presented virtually this year. 

To view the full interview with Maxime, please click on the link below or visit the OVA’s YouTube page.
Video: Maxime Gratton - Ken Davies Memorial Award Winner (2020)

Congratulations Maxime on your well-deserved recognition as the 2020 Ken Davies Memorial award recipient.

Previous Ken Davies Memorial Award Winners

2019 – Erik Siksna
2018 - Justin Lui

2017 – Alex St-Denis
2016 – Jordan Figuera
2015 – Sebastian Lethbridge
2014 – Andrew Richards
2013 – Brandon Koppers
2012 – Bruno Lortie
2011 – Tyler Scheerhoorn
2010 – Garrett May
2009 – Jeremie Lortie
2008 – Erik Mattson; Alex Oneid
2007 – Josh Lichty
2006 – Sander Ratsep
2005 – Josh Nederveen/Devin Atkinson
2004 – Devon Miller/Stuart Hamilton
2003 – Paul Hrkal
2002 – Nick Beaver
2001 – Mark Sidler/Tim Wiley
2000 – David Killam
1999 – Brian Fuchs
1998 – Chris Piggot
1997 – Pat Thomas
1996 – Dennis Cerovac
1995 – Rob Janson/Neil Mason
1994 – Daryl Reid
1993 – Daryl Reid/Craig Done
1992 - Paul Duerden
1991 - Dustin Reid/Josh Prowse
1990 - Andreas Schirm