skip navigation

Toronto Pro Beach League Crowns Inaugural Champions!

By Ontario Volleyball, 01/31/20, 3:00PM EST


The following is a message from Toronto Pro Beach League:

OnPoint Beach Volleyball is crowned the first-ever Toronto Pro beach League Champions!

The championship final didn’t disappoint as fans in attendance were treated to a Golden Overtime set. Defending National Champions Ivan Reka and Simon Fecteau-Boutin got Galaxy Volleyball Club off to a hot start winning the first set 21-8 against Kevin Benn and Mark Gatto. Benn and Gatto fought back in the second set but to no avail as Galaxy took the second set 21-19.

On the women’s side, Megan and Nicole McNamara looked very impressive as they defeated Marie-Christine Lapointe and Amanda Harnett 2-0 (21-14, 21-8).

In the Golden Overtime set, OnPoint jumped out to an early lead thanks to some strong defense by both Megan/Nicole and Benn/Gatto and never looked back. OnPoint won the final set convincingly 15-5.

“We are thrilled to have won the Toronto Pro Beach League! Not only was it super fun but it was also great to get some competitive matches in before the season starts,” said Megan. “We hope to play in it again next year. Thank you, Josh Nichol, Beach Blast and the clubs who sponsored it!”

“On behalf of Team Leaside, I want to say thanks to our two teams who battled hard throughout the Toronto Pro Beach League. It was a great opportunity to showcase our country’s next generation of beach athletes,” said Bob Armstrong of Leaside Volleyball Club. “Many of our Leaside Club athletes were there courtside volunteering and learning from some of the top players in Canada.”

“The league was a great opportunity to connect the volleyball community. It wouldn’t have been possible without OnPoint, Galaxy, Phoenix or Leaside, as well as the support from the Ontario Volleyball Association, the referees, Beach Blast, Ben Saxton and the National Volleyball Beach League, CanuckStuff and Caskal for the amazing trophy design,” added League Commissioner, Josh Nichol. “We learned a lot and look forward to being back next year bigger and better!”


2020 Toronto Pro Beach League Champions:
OnPoint Beach Volleyball
Megan McNamara/Nicole McNamara & Kevin Benn/Mark Gatto

Toronto Pro Beach League Finals