skip navigation

Armstrong and Siksna earn top OVA honours

By OVA, 04/24/19, 3:45PM EDT


The Ontario Volleyball Association is pleased to announce Erik Siksna and Haley Armstrong as the winners of the associations most prestigious award for youth volleyball players in Ontario the Ken Davies and Evelyn Holick Memorial awards. These awards are presented annually to a nominated male and female athlete from the 18 and under division who encompass the characteristics of their award namesakes. These traits include on-court talent and accomplishments, as well as their injection of spirit and compassion within their community away from the court. These awards recognize the complete player and person.

Siksna, 18, has accomplished much in his career to date playing for both Team Ontario and Team Canada Youth and Junior line-ups as an outside hitter. Away from the court, he devotes time volunteering as a Muskoka Woods camp counsellor for the grade nines within his high school ensuring those following in his footsteps have the same positive experiences as himself. He also enjoys spending time at the Latvian Seniors home, and the calm and collected future Queens University student-athlete recently travelled to the Amazon region of Ecuador volunteering to dig the foundation for an addition to the community’s school. While abroad, one of the highlights of his trip was playing volleyball with the local children and sharing his love of the sport.  

“It’s a pleasure to coach an athlete like Erik Siksna,” commented Storm Riptide head coach Kevin Therkildsen of his standout player. “Not only is he talented, but he is also an incredible leader, strong student and a genuine all-around good person. For him to be selected as the recipient of the Ken Davies Memorial Award is an amazing privilege, one I know he will respect and acknowledge with pride as he moves on to the next phase of his career and life.”

Armstrong, 18, is a sparkplug who brings an intensity that is contagious to her teammates and everyone who encounters her. Her ability to connect with people has allowed her for fill her passion for volleyball, escalating her game to the upper echelons of the sport for her age including stints with Team Ontario and Team Canada Youth and Junior programs. Away from the court, Haley’s passion for the community continues with her volunteering as a math tutor for grade nine students, and as an event volunteer at the Milton Marathon. Not remaining static for long, she also donates her time at numerous camps, shares her knowledge of the sport by coaching Midget and Junior level teams at her high school and officiates elementary school volleyball matches, all while maintaining an outstanding academic record.

“Haley is one of the most committed and passionate volleyball athletes in our club. Her work ethic is through the roof and her constant desire to be the best she can is evident in all she does, whether it be on the court or in school,” said Gabriele Jobst, technical director and head coach of the 18U Halton Hurricanes team. “Because she is so committed to being the best at whatever she puts her focus to, Haley has achieved incredible levels and I am certain she will continue to excel on the court and in life.”

The Ken Davies and Evelyn Holick Memorial awards, as well as the 18U Grand Prix all-stars, will be formally presented on Saturday, April 28th at 2 pm on the main stage (court 19 in the gymnasium) during the Ontario Championship’s final weekend at RIM Park in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada.  

Full interviews of both Erik and Haley are available on Youtube or by clicking on the appropriate link.

Full Erik Siksna Interview
Full Haley Armstrong Interview 

Previous Evelyn Holick Award winners
2018 - Lauren Wong
2017 – Maddie Lethbridge
2016 – Emie Gaboury
2015 – Michelle Chelladurai
2014 – Lauren Sanderson
2013 – Shainah Joseph
2012 – Brett Hagarty
2011 – Michaela Reesor
2010 – Ali Goc
2009 – Lauren Carter
2008 – Meagan Nederveen
2007 – Amanda Cowdrey/Shannon Anderson
2006 – Amber Campbell/Annabelle Pellerin
2005 – Tess Edwards
2004 – Sarah Pavan
2003 – Kim Todd
2002 – Danielle Walker
2001 – Laura Horner
2000 – Stacey Gordon
1999 – Stacey Gordon
1998 – Sherene Lemonias
1997 – Allison Peckham
1996 – Kera Carter
1995 – Marnie Simpson
1994 - Barb Ifejika

Previous Ken Davies Award Winners
2018 - Justin Lui
2017 – Alex St-Denis
2016 – Jordan Figuera
2015 – Sebastian Lethbridge
2014 – Andrew Richards
2013 – Brandon Koppers
2012 – Bruno Lortie
2011 – Tyler Scheerhoorn
2010 – Garrett May
2009 – Jeremie Lortie
2008 – Erik Mattson; Alex Oneid
2007 – Josh Lichty
2006 – Sander Ratsep
2005 – Josh Nederveen/Devin Atkinson
2004 – Devon Miller/Stuart Hamilton
2003 – Paul Hrkal
2002 – Nick Beaver
2001 – Mark Sidler/Tim Wiley
2000 – David Killam
1999 – Brian Fuchs
1998 – Chris Piggot
1997 – Pat Thomas
1996 – Dennis Cerovac
1995 – Rob Janson/Neil Mason
1994 – Daryl Reid
1993 – Daryl Reid/Craig Done
1992 - Paul Duerden
1991 - Dustin Reid/Josh Prowse
1990 - Andreas Schirm