Spikes on the Beach Launches Programs Near You!

Monday, June 12, 2017

This Summer, 16 locations across Ontario will be offering the OVA's SPIKES on the Beach programs!

Spikes on the Beach is an engaging Play to Learn format for youth aged 8-14 to begin playing beach volleyball. A half hour of drills ​and skills led by certified coaches, followed by an hour of actual gameplay means that your child will learn the necessary fundamentals and put them to use right away! Don’t just take our word for it, hear what two (2) of our Team Canada Olympians, (Josh Binstock and Heather Bansley) have to say about the program:

Testimonial

Yesterday we held our first Spikes on the Beach session and the kids LOVED it. It is a smaller group than the numbers we have for the camps we are running in the summer so I guess that’s a good thing since we are learning the ropes. The conditions were pretty much perfect and although it ran for 4 HOURS and the kids were sandy, hot, and hungry, nearly all of them didn’t want to leave. We took that as a good sign!” –Allison Haley, Cornwall Vikings Volleyball Club

Locations

Spikes on the Beach programs are being run from June – August with each location hosting more than one program or camp. Sign up early as spots go fast! Check the list below for a location near you:

Location

Host

Contact

Email

Barrie

Barrie Spikes

Karen Leslie

barrie.spikesvball@hotmail.com

Brampton

Brampton Spikes

Bud Mason

budmason@sympatico.ca

Bolton

Peel Selects

John Jones

johnjones66@sympatico.ca

Chatham

On Point Beach Volleyball

Darren O’Neil

darren@onpointathletics.ca

Cornwall

Cornwall Vikings

Allison Haley

cornwallvikingsvolleyball@gmail.com

Kingston

Kingston Volleyball Club

Matt Somerville

info@kingstonvolleyballclub.com

Kingsville

On Point Beach Volleyball

Darren O’Neil

darren@onpointathletics.ca

Lindsay

Kawartha Lakes Boys & Girls Club

Trevor Tompkins

ttompkins@bgckl.com

Markham

Unity Volleyball

Daniel Shermer

daniel@unityvolleyball.ca

North Bay

Vision Volleyball

David Culin

david@arnstein.ca

Ottawa Valley

Ottawa Valley Vikings

Dave Dobson

d_dobson@hotmail.com

Sarnia

Twin Bridges Volleyball Club

Lisa Bennett

twinbridgesvbc@gmail.com

Sudbury

Northern Chill Volleyball Club

Bryan Welsh

bwelsh7.5@outlook.com

Thunder Bay

Lakehead University

Edward Jung

ejjung@lakeheadu.ca

Waterloo

Waterloo Predators

Paul Pavan

pavan2977@rogers.com

Windsor

SKY Volley

Jimmy El-Turk

Jimmy.elturk@gmail.com

Get Involved!

Are you a community organization or volleyball club that want to grow your youth beach volleyball programming? Contact our Grassroots Coordinator, Kerish Maharaj via email: kmaharaj@ontariovolleyball.org to find out how to start a Spikes on the Beach program in your area – even without a beach nearby!

*Hint*

Ask him how to access the coaching manuals, videos, and other resources developed through this pilot project for free! 

Category: 
News
Success Story
Volleyball In The Community